Apparently, I was the captain of our basketball team. It haven’t sunk into me yet until recently since there was no formality that happened whatsoever. I just told the team last year that “I’ll be the captain next year” and that’s it. Nobody disagreed so yeah.

But you know the feeling that when you achieved something, there’s a voice inside you telling you that you don’t deserve it? I mean, I know that a there’s a handful among us that’s a better fit for the role. It was just two years since I started playing basketball. Literally everyone else was playing maybe ever since they’re children or at least high school. They had the ability to play reason over instinct. They had more experience. Then suddenly, me, a newbie is going to lead them as the team captain. If I were in their situation, I will riot, disobey, and disrespect. Just thinking about it gives me shivers. Am I really fit to be the captain?

Then recently, at a birthday party of a friend, I bumped into one of my teammates.

“Capt! what’s up!” 

Ain’t it nice to the ears?

