“Hi”

The clock is ticking. The game plan is on. Everyone’s in position. They’re watching me. I have to make my move.

I’ve been planning this for months; made sure that everything goes flawlessly and smoothly when the most perfect moment has come. I’ve studied all the possibilities; every angle, every outcome, every permutation that could perchance occur. Foolproof, you could call it. Not a hole left uncovered, nor a room intended for mistake.

I have been waiting for this, for this moment to finally come. But though I have foreseen that this is inevitably going to happen sooner or later, now that the time has finally come, I find it hard even just to move my feet and take a step. Perfect have all the preparations I’ve made, but the real thing still is more nerve-racking than the theory. Shivers ran down my spine, but never shall I back off now.

“I can do this,” I comforted myself. I cracked my fingers as if I’ll be going into a fistfight. Definitely, for me this is a lot more than that. I’ve betted this all my pride, my dignity, my guts, my heart. I can’t afford blowing this up. I can’t afford the cost of a broken heart.

Then finally for this crux, I have gathered all my strengths and guts; for the sake of my heart. Slowly, I took a step. I feel a rush of adrenaline flowing through my veins as soon as my feet touched the ground. My heart beats gradually faster and faster. It’s like falling freely over a cliff. I experience an extreme type of high, like I’m in a trance.

Thence, as the sequence of events brought me standing a few steps from her, she gazed at me soul; and smiled. My heart skipped a beat. And thus I smiled back and suddenly,

“Hi!”

