Three – point – zero.

“Yyyyeeeeeaaaaaaah!”, the other users in the internet café turned their heads on me as I disturbingly screamed in joy when I saw the 3.0 mark in my most horrifying subject this year in math. Though it was a relatively low rating, the lowest passing actually, for someone who is very close to committing suicide if he failed, it is a big sigh of relief and a cause for a celebration.

However, even if I passed, I still cannot believe that it’s true because all the odds were already against me. For example, our professor hates latecomers, which is a thing in which I could say I am best. Another, I had terrible scores in all 5 of our exams: 17, 9, 17, 9, 20 and the average total score for each test is 55, am I near the 50% passing cut-off? And on the last month of the school year (March), maybe I had only attended class once. All in all, my professor has all the reasons to give me a failing grade.

But he didn’t. So, even though there’s not enough evidence to prove it, maybe – no, not maybe – more probably, I did well on his final exam. Well, I studied all the reasons I failed all my preliminary exams and most the causes are my carelessness, not following rules, and more not following rules. Mostly not following rules. That’s why in the finals, I tried my best to follow the rules, I don’t know about the answer this time, but I’m sure I have followed the rules. So maybe that’s the reason I passed.

Now that I thought about it, if my assumption is correct, then in college, we are trained to follow rules. And failing to do so means failure to pass. Wait a minute, in math, there are lots of ways to approach a problem. But, this time, there is only one and only one solution. That is, the solution of our professor. Is this real math now? Or is this training to become robots?

